House of Marco Polo between 13th and 14th century, Ca’ Amadi is sited in the area where the family of the famous merchant and explorer owned several buildings.
In the 15th century, the palace was the residence of the Count Francesco Amadi, from whom Ca’ Amadi derives its name. The Amadi family, called also Amai, moved from Germany to different Italian cities. In Venice the Amadi family arrived from Lombardy in 820 and from Tuscany in the 14th century. This family of merchants used to have great prestige in Venice and it included important members of the political and clerical life of Venice.
The local chronicle tells that, in 1452, Francesco Amadi hosted in his house the Emperor Frederick III and his wife Leonora and for this he was attributed the title of Count.
Ca’ Amadi still preserves rich traces of its long history – the decorated wooden ceilings, some frescoes, the three-window balcony on the canal – which give it a unique charm.